The (General Data Protection Regulation) GDPR – replacing the 1995 EU Data Protection Directive (DPD) – is here to protect your personal data with a witty punch. It amends the rights of EU citizens and brings new obligations for organizations holding or processing your personal information.
As a Super Admin, you can get GDPR-ready in a jiffy with one quick flick of the switch in your HubSpot account settings! With Edit account defaults permissions enabled, you can wink at those privacy rules, knowing you’re all set up to have GDPR-compliant features across your entire HubSpot account.
- For this, first, go to your HubSpot account, and tap on the settings icon; you can find it on the main navigation bar.
- Then, you can find Privacy & Consent (left sidebar menu); click on it!
- Toggle the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) switch ON to ensure that only contacts with a legal basis to communicate receive marketing emails. And, you have to check the “Legal basis required” checkbox for enabling this.
- Click Save.
When you tick the Legal basis required box, we’ll turn off all subscription types on a contact’s email subscription page! When you get GDPR-ready, you’ll unlock some pretty cool features – everything from bulk imports to custom fields!
- The default setting for cookie consent banners will be set to ON.
- When using the HubSpot Sales extension or add-in, a banner will appear on contact records to inform you if the contact does not have a legal basis for processing.
- Create forms that are ready for GDPR compliance by adding a lawful basis notice and communication consent checkbox form field. For existing forms, you need to include notice and consent information for each one.
- By default, unsubscribe links are enabled for sales one-to-one and sequence emails, with notice/consent messaging included on scheduling pages. Pages created before enabling GDPR will not be updated to include this message.
- Provide GDPR compliance with contact consent and processing data, allowing you to add this information during a list import, manual contact creation, or a bulk edit.
A deleted feature is available, giving you the option to delete a contact temporarily and still retain it for up to 90 days, or delete it completely and conform to GDPR regulations. If you turn off GDPR in your account, the cookie consent banner will not automatically be disabled.